East Vandergrift Borough

Welcome to East Vandergrift


History of East Vandergrift.

The Borough of East Vandergrift is a vibrant community with a rich history dating back to the days when the Delaware and Shawnee Indians occupied the valley of the Kiskiminetas. The first recorded deed for the land that now constitutes East Vandergrift was on March 5, 1773 and was known as “Three Bottoms”. The land changed hands nearly two dozen times over a hundred-year period before being incorporated into a borough on December 18, 1901, under the name “The Borough of East Vandergrift”. At the time of incorporation, the borough had 75 property owners and a population of 700.

For its first ten years, East Vandergrift was a developing community with unpaved streets and a wooden plank sidewalk along McKinley Ave between Reed and Jackson Streets. Despite challenges such as floods and fires, the borough continued to grow and thrive. In 1912, the first sewer line was laid from McKinley to the river, street lights were installed, and the first post office opened. The Apollo Ferry Company transported residents across the river, and an Ice Plant opened in 1911, producing up to 37 tons of ice daily.

By 1920, the population had reached its peak of 2,441, but the borough faced several challenges in the years to follow. In 1933, the school house burned down, and in 1936, both Saint Casimir’s Church and several homes were destroyed by fire and a disastrous flood. Despite these challenges, East Vandergrift remains a proud and vibrant community, with a population of 674 and 331 houses today. The residents of East Vandergrift continue to celebrate their rich history and strong community spirit.

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window